What I Want To See In The Tupac Biopic

Image result for all eyez on me movie

After almost 21 years of living in a world without the GREAT Tupac Amaru Shakur, Hollywood (The Great Powers That Be) is finally releasing a movie based on his life! “All Eyez On Me” stars Demetrius Shipp as Tupac and is directed by Benny Boom, acclaimed music video director. The film will be released on June 16, 2017 which is also Tupac’s birthday, so that’s a double dose of culture for you. Here are some things that I want to see in the film:

  1. His Mother’s Story: Afeni Shakur is a legend in her own right. Former Black Panther, she was part of the “Panther 21” (GOOGLE it) when she was only a teenager. Pregnant with Tupac and incarcerated awaiting trial she acted as her own attorney and was acquitted. A woman this brilliant deserves at least 25 minutes worth of camera time.
  2.  His ADORATION for the Women in his life: Sure Tupac made songs like “I Get Around” (and ode to groupies) but he countered that with the beloved track “Keep Your Head Up” (an anthem for strong black women). It was NO secret that he shared close, meaningful relationships with various celebrity women, only some being romantic. He was a ladies man but not in the sexual sense. He loved and appreciated the essence of women. He studied them. He fought for them. He spoke up for them. Friends like Rosie Perez, Jasmine Guy, (the late) Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes, and of course Jada Pinkett-Smith have all spoke about the spirit of Tupac and their personal connection with the legend. Image result for tupac and jada
  3. His Work Ethic: Anytime I hear about Tupac in the studio, people always describe him as a “mad man”. They said he would knock out 2-6 songs per session not even stopping to listen to the playback. It’s like he knew he wouldn’t be here long and he was trying to get everything out before it was too late. Either way, it’s hard to find a rapper (especially one in their early 20s) whose work ethic is as strong as his. He was something like a unicorn.
  4. The Conspiracy: I am one of those people who believe that Pac is alive and in Cuba somewhere. Yes, I am she & she is me. I have my theories but I’ll save that for another day. With so much mystery surrounding his “death” I would like to see that part of the story left up in the air. Unlike his then rival Biggie Smalls, Pac never had a funeral (both services were cancelled)…so how will it end? The last 7 days of Tupac’s life were strange to say the least. Since we DON’T know for a fact, I would love for it just to end not to try to sell us a story that doesn’t exist. I remember 1996 very clearly and Tupac’s death never seemed “final”.

 

What are some things that you want to see pan out in the new biopic “All Eyez On Me”? Let me know & meet me at the theater this weekend for the premiere! I have a good feeling about this!

 

Image result for tupac

Leave a Reply

